It’s Too Darn Hot on 34th & 7th

Hey guys!  Welcome to my first review!

As I said in my previous post, I met up with my aunt at Penn Station on 34th street in Manhattan.  It was a hot one that day.  The streets were filled with tourists, and the streets hummed with the sound of cars and buses stuck in traffic.  The humming was punctuated with the occasional frequent sound of beeping.  Just another day on 34th and 7th.  We jetted right over to Macy’s and were overwhelmed by how large the store was.  I’m talking 6-7 floors filled with merchandise.  The store is the length of a city block, and the width of half a city block.  So begins our journey.

We went straight towards the sales racks because fuggedabout the full priced merchandised.  Even some of the clothing on sale was expensive.  50% off doesn’t mean much when the original price is $300.  Three floors and countless sales racks later, I came out victorious with two very nice tops and a dress:

Original price: $48.00
What I paid: $22.99
Designer: Studio M
Original price: $39.95
What I paid: $19.99
Designer: International Concepts
Note: This top can easily be dressed up or down.  I wore this outfit to a Broadway show called Anything Goes.  It was a fun show.  If you enjoy cute/cheesy musicals I suggest you go see it before it closes!
Original price: $40.00
What I paid: $20.00
Designer: ABG

After Macy’s we grabbed lunch.  I was going to take her to Century 21 next, however, it was located downtown.  I decided it was too hot to get on the train, so we went to Daffy’s instead.  Daffy’s consisted of four floors, two of which were dedicated to women’s clothing.  Here’s what I bought from there:

Original price: $16.99
What I paid: $11.32
Designer: Lillap ($42.00 value)
Original price: $16.99
What I paid: $11.32
Designer: Catana U.S.A ($56.00 value)
Note: I wore this outfit while walking over The High Line.  It kept me as cool as possible.
Original price: $23.99
What I paid: $15.99
Designer: Carmen Marc Valvo ($58.00 value)

I ended up buying a couple of things that weren’t on sale:

Price: $14.00
Designer: Cappelli
Price: $10.00
Designer: Ellen Tracy

To top it all off, we went over to DSW to check out shoes.  We were somewhat disappointed with their tiny clearance section.  I couldn’t help but laugh though when my aunt kept on picking up $350 dollar shoes and saying, “Hey Laura!  These are only $35!” Then I would point out that there was a pesky zero that followed.  This happened 2-3 times (at least).  Needless to say, we didn’t spend a whole lot of time there.  However, my aunt ended up purchasing a very nice pair of Minnetonka flip flops (not on sale) for $40:

I bought a pair of these in black as well a couple of years ago, and I swear, it feels like I’m walking on a cloud.  My mother also has a pair in brown.  These are great flip-flops, even though they’re kinda pricey.  I’m sure you can find them cheaper elsewhere.

Overall, I thought this was a very successful shopping expedition.  There’re a few things you might want to take into consideration before going to these particular stores:

  1. If you can’t stand it when the racks are disorganized, don’t go to the Macy’s sales section.  All of the racks were filled to the brim with clothing, making it very difficult to browse.  Additionally, all of the sizes were jumbled up.  I can’t tell you how many times I picked out something that caught my eye, only to find that it was either too big or too small.
  2. Daffy’s was slightly more organized and less crowded than Macy’s.  In my opinion, their merchandise didn’t need to be on sale to be decently priced.  I enjoyed shopping at Daffy’s much more than Macy’s.
  3. DSW had a lot of cute shoes, but a tiny clearance section.  I suggest going to the DSW located in the Atlantic Mall in Brooklyn.  They have a huge clearance section there.

I would like to close with a great song that describes New York City summers quite accurately.

Sing it Ella:

Leave a Reply

